The field is set for the NCAA Division III Men’s National Championship

The NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Committee has announced who will compete May 11-14 at Oglebay in Wheeling, West Virginia, for the Division III national title. The 72-hole event will feature 37 teams and six individuals, with a cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals not on those teams after 36 holes.

In Division III, the national-championship field is selected by a combination of automatic qualifying spots and pool selections. Beyond the 30 AQ spots, four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification and three berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion plus any remaining Pool B teams.

The national championship was canceled in 2020, but Illinois Wesleyan returns this year after winning its first national title in program history in 2019.

Conferences Receiving Automatic Qualification Berths (30)

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference – Pennsylvania State Univ. Erie, The Behrend College

American Rivers Conference – Nebraska Wesleyan

American Southwest Conference – Mary Hardin-Baylor

Centennial Conference – Franklin & Marshall

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin – Illinois Wesleyan

Colonial States Athletic Conference – Rosemont

Commonwealth Coast Conference – Western New England

Empire 8 – Utica

Great Northeast Athletic Conference – Albertus Magnus

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference – Rose-Hulman

Landmark Conference – Catholic

Liberty League – Rensselaer Polytechnic

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Trine

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth – York College (Pennsylvania)

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom – Stevens Institute of Technology

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – St. John’s (Minnesota)

New England Small College Athletic Conference – Trinity (Connecticut)

North Atlantic Conference – Husson

North Coast Athletic Conference – Denison

North Eastern Athletic Conference – Pennsylvania College of Technology

Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference – Aurora

Northwest Conference – Willamette

Ohio Athletic Conference – Otterbein

Old Dominion Athletic Conference – Guilford

Presidents’ Athletic Conference – Westminster PA

Skyline Conference – Farmingdale State

Southern Athletic Association – South – Sewanee

St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Webster

Upper Midwest Athletic Conference – Wisconsin-Superior

USA South Athletic Conference – Piedmont

Pool B Berths (4)

Story continues


Trinity Texas

Carnegie Mellon

Christopher Newport

Pool C Berths (3)



St. Thomas Minnesota

Individuals (6)

Kevin Burris, Pfeiffer

Cameron Starr, LaGrange

Lane Roye, McMurry

Jacob Pedersen, Gustavus Adolphus

Declan Hickton, Rochester

Pierce Robinson, Washington & Lee

Source link

You might like

About the Author: